History of the Sanford Country Club

Posted by: MBR on Wed Aug 24th, 2011 1:03 pm
History of the Sanford Country ClubBy Dave Dutch Guest Historical WriterSANFORD Its founders knew a quiet and tranquil place to play golf when they decided to lay out a nine-hole golf course in Sanford in the early 1920's. Nestled beneath, and in the shadow of Bauneg Beg Mountain and on the northeast shore of its namesake lake, Sanford Country Club was born.In November of 1923, a committee headed by county attorney Edward S. Titcomb set up a corporation of stockholders whose purpose was to develop a family country club for the Sanford area. Included were plans for public bathing, or bath and boathouse on the lake, and tennis courts. They bought the sprawling 200-acre Hurd farm with a one and half story 100-year old colonial farmhouse and barn, including 50 acres of cleared land, for $2700. The purchase also included 12 acres of waterfront on the other side of the newly constructed North Berwick Road (Route 4). The committee sought expertise from golf pros Fred Ryall of the Biddeford-Saco CC and Howard Frederick of Westbrook.for full storyhttp://www.fosters.com/apps/pbcs.dll/ar ... /SANSPORTS