Maine Women’s Basketball Coaches Association: All-State Team

Post info or Comments: NCAA D3, NAIA, USCAA

Re: Maine Women’s Basketball Coaches Association: All-State

Postby Tom Nolette » Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:47 pm

Sara Binkhorst, Adrienne Shibles, Nina Davenport, Head All-State Nominees

Bowdoin College senior guard Sara Binkhorst has been chosen as the Maine Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (MWBCA) Player of the Year, while Nina Davenport from Bates College has been selected as the Rookie of the Year. Adrienne Shibles from Bowdoin College was picked as the Coach of the Year.

A native of West Hartford, Connecticut, the 5-7 guard helped lead Bowdoin to a 25-4 record and a trip to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament. The senior tri-captain averaged 14.4 points per game, 3.4 rebounds per game, and 3.3 assists per game. Binkhorst dished out 95 assists on the year while swiping 34 steals throughout the season. Binkhorst shot 41 percent from the field, an impressive 41.2 percent from the three point line and 85.4 percent from the free throw line. The senior guard was also named to the All-NESCAC 1st Team for the second straight season

Davenport, a freshman forward from Freeport, Maine, had an immediate impact on the Bobcats season after transferring in second semester from the University of Maine. Davenport was second on the team in scoring (14.7 ppg), and was second on the team in rebounding (5.8 rpg). Davenport became a starter for Bates on January 30th and scored over 20 points in five of her last seven contests including a 34 point effort against Bowdoin.

Shibles collects her 4th MWBCA Coach of The Year award since the 2008-2009 season. Shibles led the Polar Bears to a 25-4 record and a trip to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament. Shibles collects her first 25 win season at Bowdoin and has amassed a 151-47 record in her 7 seasons at the helm of the Polar Bears.

First Team All-State
Sara Binkhorst, Sr. – Bowdoin College
Shannon Brady, Jr. – Bowdoin College
Carylanne Wolfington, Jr. – Colby College
Kelly Coleman, Sr. – University of New England
Morgan Cahill, Jr. – St. Joseph’s College

Second Team All-State
Megan Pelletier, Jr. – University of Southern Maine
Alanna Vose, Jr. – University of New England
Meghan Gribbin, Jr. – University of New England
Mary Badeen, Jr. – Maine Maritime Academy
Mia Diplock, Jr. – Colby College

All-Rookie Team
Nina Davenport, Bates College
Kate Kerrigan, Bowdoin College
Haley Driscoll, Colby College
Norma Waggett, St. Joseph’s College
Kelly Pomerleau, University of Maine @ Farmington

Player of the Year: Sara Binkhorst, Bowdoin
Rookie of the Year: Nina Davenport, Bates
Coach of the Year: Adrienne Shibles, Bowdoin
Tom Nolette
Founder / Owner
User avatar
Tom Nolette
Posts: 80445
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:10 pm
Location: Maine


Return to Maine Colleges (other than D1 UMaine)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests